Events

Throughout the year Maple Street Book Shop hosts authors for book signings, readings and other events. We provide drinks and refreshments at book signings for the comfort of our authors and customers. If you can’t make it to a book signing, but would like a signed copy of the book, we’ll be happy to take your order over the phone or via our new online service, have the book signed, and ship it to you.

And if you’re interested, watch for our story times and other kids events listed on New Orleans Macaroni Kid.

Storytime with Miss Maureen - Saturdays at 11:30AM at Maple Street Book Shop

May 30th, 2015


We’ll read The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli. With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination. With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli’s picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box.

Barri Bronston - Walking New Orleans - Maple Street Book Shop

May 30th, 2015


Barri Bronston will be signing her book Walking New Orleans Saturday, May 30th, 11:30-1PM at Maple Street Book Shop.

From Lakeview and Mid-City to the Saenger Theater and Superdome, from its restaurants and music clubs to its parks and museums, the Big Easy is one of the world’s most fascinating cities. In Walking New Orleans, lifelong resident and writer Barri Bronston shares the love of her hometown through 30 self-guided tours that range from St. Charles Avenue and Magazine Street to Bywater and Faubourg Marigny. Within each tour, she offers tips on where to eat, drink, dance, and play.

First Tuesday Book Club (June) - Instant Love by Jami Attenberg

June 2nd, 2015


The First Tuesday Book Club will meet Tuesday, June 2nd, at 5:45PM at Maple Street Book Shop. They’ll be discussing Jami Attenberg’s Instant Love. Newcomers are always welcome! And don’t forget, book club books are always 10% off.

“We are all walking around this city with our hearts sadly swimming in our chests, like dying fish on the surface of a still pond. It’s enough to make you give up entirely.” —from Instant Love

But we don’t give up. We keep trying. We’re either too stupid to learn from our mistakes or we honestly believe that the next time will be different; it’s hard to say which. Driven by the mad hopefulness that is part of the human condition, we are constantly falling in and out of love with a slightly different version of the person who came before. Jami Attenberg chronicles those exact moments with heartbreaking realism in her powerful debut, Instant Love.

Storytime with Miss Maureen - Saturdays at 11:30AM at Maple Street Book Shop

June 6th, 2015


We’ll read William & the Missing Masterpiece by Helen Hancocks. Debonair cat-detective William finds himself at the center of a mysterious theft when the Mona Cheesa is stolen from a Parisian gallery. Can William put the clues together and solve the crime? Fans of Helen Hancocks’s Penguin in Peril won’t be disappointed in this hilarious tale of cat and mouse.

Launch Party for A Book of Uncommon Prayer - Press Street Gallery

June 19th, 2015


The Launch Party for A Book of Uncommon Prayer is Friday, June 19th, 6-8PM at Press Street (3718 St. Claude Avenue). Maple Street Book Shop will be on-site selling books.

A Book of Uncommon Prayer is an anthology of everyday invocations by 64 authors edited by Matthew Vollmer, from Outpost19 Books, San Francisco, with prayers by Dan Albergotti, Kate Angus, Hadara Bar-Nadav, Jensen Beach, A. K. Benninghofen, Nathan Blake, Gabriel Blackwell, George Bishop, Jr., Liz Moore, Catherine Lacey, and Ravi Shankar, to name a few.

The Launch Party will feature readers Wendy Brenner, George Bishop, and A.K. Benninghofen. With a special guest appearance by members of The New Movement – New Orleans Theatre Co.

Marti Dumas - Jaden Toussaint, The Greatest - Maple Street Book Shop

June 27th, 2015

Please join us on Saturday, June 27 at 11:30 AM to 1 PM to celebrate the release of Marti Dumas’ newest book, “Jaden Toussaint, the Greatest Episode 1: The Quest for Screen Time.

Giant Afro. Even Bigger Brain. Jaden Toussaint is a five year-old who knows it all. I mean, really knows it all. Animal Science. Great Debater. Master of the art of ninja dancing. There’s nothing Jaden Toussaint can’t do. The only problem is that grown-ups keep trying to convince him that, even though he’s really smart, he doesn’t know EVERYTHING. The thing is…he kind of does. This time our hero must use all his super-powered brain power to convince the grown-ups that he needs more screen time.

First Tuesday Book Club (July) - Maragaret Fuller: A New American Life

July 7th, 2015


The First Tuesday Book Club will meet Tuesday, July 7th, at Maple Street Book Shop. Their July selection is Margaret Fuller: A New American Life Newcomers are always welcome. Book Club books are always 10% off.

Pulitzer Prize finalist Megan Marshall recounts the trailblazing life of Margaret Fuller: Thoreau’s first editor, Emerson’s close friend, daring war correspondent, tragic heroine. After her untimely death in a shipwreck off Fire Island, the sense and passion of her life’s work were eclipsed by scandal. Marshall’s inspired narrative brings her back to indelible life.

Whether detailing her front-page “New-York Tribune’ editorials against poor conditions in the city’s prisons and mental hospitals, or illuminating her late-in-life hunger for passionate experience—including a secret affair with a young officer in the Roman Guard—Marshall’s biography gives the most thorough and compassionate view of an extraordinary woman. No biography of Fuller has made her ideas so alive or her life so moving.

Scotlandville - Maple Street Book Shop

July 7th, 2015

Please join us on Tuesday, July 7, at 6PM, when we will have signing party and discussion with the authors of Scotlandville. Rachel L. Emanuel PhD, Ruby Jean Simms PhD, Charles Vincent PhD, and Mayor-President Melvin “Kip” Holden will be with us to do a reading.

A rural village that was once the entry point for the slave trade and home to a cotton plantation, Scotlandville became the largest majority African American town in Louisiana. Located in the northern part of East Baton Rouge Parish, Scotlandville’s history is intricately tied to Southern University and A&M College System, the only historically black university system in the United States. Southern University relocated from New Orleans to the bluff of the Mississippi River on the western edge of Scotlandville in 1914. The story of the university and town is a tale of triumph and struggle in the midst of racism, inequality, and oppression. Presented through the theme of firsts in businesses, churches, schools, residential developments, environmental issues, politics, social organizations, and community service, Images of America: Scotlandville focuses on the people who shaped the community economically, politically, socially, and culturally.

Reading with Participants of the Putney Student Travel Writing Program - Maple Street Book Shop

July 9th, 2015


Secondary students hailing from across the United States participating in the Putney Student Travel program, “Writing in the American South”, will celebrate the work they’ve done over two weeks of exploring New Orleans and the Mississippi Delta with a final reading at Maple Street Book Shop. Please join us Thursday, July 9th, 6-8PM, to hear poetry and prose inspired and informed by their travels in the South.

All are welcome. Refreshments will be served.